Trip to Japan

Thread in 'Discussion' started by TGGC, 22 Jun 2018.

1. I'll be on a trip to Japan from 15.7 on for 3 weeks. I'll stay somewhere around Ikebukuro, so I already planned visiting the Game Safari Arcade and likely Ebisen, too. As its my first time to Japan in general, and I know multiple people from here have already been there. Feel free to give some advice, what to do (or not do) there and what else I should not miss.

K, Qlex and Tomek like this.
  2. I'll write up a long post when I have a little time.

3. Well, you needn't go overboard with it, but any info is appreciated!

4. If you don't want to have to travel all the way to Game Safari Arcade, check out HEY (Hirose Entertainment Yard: https://goo.gl/maps/dhoAhoKzKxF2) in Akihabara. It was the best place to play TGM2 I found when I went 2 years ago. It's 100 yen per play so a bit more expensive but the TGM area has very little cigarette smoke (most times zero, other times only minor, I went multiple times over 2 weeks). Everywhere else I went was so smoky I could only play once or twice then have to leave to breathe (and shampoo and launder all my clothes lol).

Buy some of the filtered face masks too if you go somewhere smoky.

5. Thanks! We likely have to pass Ikebukuro station every day, thats why i selected this one. But a day in Akihabara is also planned!

6. Dude, get hype! :D

7. The best place to play TGM2, is Pier21 on tuesdays, I think you get double the plays. They have a token machine there that gives you 3 tokens for 100¥ iirc, so any other TGM game is 3 plays for 100¥.

Hey arcade is great, has tons of shmups, fighters, and all the TGM's. For some reason all their TGM cabs have both a sanwa and seimitsu stick on either side, so playing doubles or vs kind of sucks.

There are a few used game stores too like Super Potato if you're a collector. Lots of CIB jp games and consoles.

8. K

K

It's been almost 10 years i haven't visited japan but my small advises :