What do you do to maintain focus during gameplay?

Thread in 'Strategy' started by GyRo, 18 May 2015.

1. I've gotten to the point in TGM where I die more because of mental focus lapses than because of misdrops. (Although misdrops are killer, of course.) The obvious solution is to optimize my physical state, so my mind remains focused as long as possible. I know that sounds like wishy washy nonsense, but it's no different from drinking coffee to do better mathematics. Which is a real thing, just like athletes using energy powders to stay amped up.

When I was a math grad student, I would take a long bike ride to get started, do an hour or two of math, then drink a certain amount of coffee to get another 2-3 useful hours out of my brain. This was the optimal strategy for getting the most good work out of a day. Tetris should be no different, except that we're trying to maximize the amount of uninterrupted mental focus rather than sporadic bursts of creativity.

For the most part I've been using moderate amounts of coffee or minor amounts of pot (which is legal here*) to maintain focus. All three of my S5's were made under these conditions. Today I tried my first energy drink ever. And a healthy sleep schedule is an essential prerequisite to any of this, of course.

I'm curious what the rest of you do for focus, and how effective each strategy is, both in terms of effect on individual games & duration of the effects.

(*But I can edit that out if need be. I have no idea what the social norms are on here yet.)

2. GyRo likes this.
  3. If you're carefully dosing your brain with things, at the S5 level, you're missing more fundamental optimizations.